Press "Enter" to skip to content

American Sportfishing Association Elects Board of Directors for 2022

Industry leaders bring a wide-range of talent and experience to address the issues that impact the recreational fishing industry

Four members of the American Sportfishing Association (ASA) were elected or re-elected to fill two At-Large seats and two regional seats on the board of directors. Their three-year terms begin October 1, 2021. ASA is the national trade association that represents the sportfishing industry. 

At-Large seats went to:

  • Dave Pfeiffer, President, Shimano North America Fishing, Inc., Ladson, South Carolina – Re-elected to serve a second term on the board.
  • Casey Shedd – President, AFTCO, Santa Ana, California – Elected to serve a first term on the board. 

Regional seats went to:

  • Patrick Gill, CEO, TackleDirect, Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey – Northeast Region – Re-elected to serve a second term on the board.
  • Larry Roberts, Senior Vice President, General Merchandise Manager, Outdoor Division, Academy Sports + Outdoors, Katy, Texas – South Central Region – Elected to serve a first term on the board. 

“I congratulate Dave Pfeiffer and Patrick Gill on their re-elections and welcome Casey Shedd and Larry Roberts to their first terms on the board of directors,” said ASA President Glenn Hughes. 

Hughes further noted, “They are dynamic leaders, industry veterans and steadfast advocates for sportfishing. I look forward to working with them and thank them and the entire board for their time and service to the industry.”

Patrick Gill, CEO, TackleDirect, comes from a fishing family whose grandfather owned a bait and tackle shop. He knows that it takes hard work and good leadership to have a thriving industry. He believes that an effective trade association needs to listen to the concerns of its members to make informed decisions that help secure the industry now and for the future.

Dave Pfeiffer, President, Shimano North American Fishing, Inc., has more than 30 years working for Shimano and has been active with ASA since 1999, serving in a variety of positions including board Chairman from 2005 – 2006 and six terms as a board member. Pfeiffer helped spearhead ASA’s influential Keep Florida Fishing initiative. In the past and going forward, Pfeiffer’s efforts in assuring fishing access and increasing fishing participation will always be at the forefront.

Larry Roberts, Senior Vice President, General Merchandise Manager, Outdoor Division, Academy Sports + Outdoors, is excited to see the new growth in recreational fishing. He sees retaining these new anglers as one of our top priorities for the industry. He believes that access, expanded use of technology and education are essential to keeping them engaged and will bring his expertise in these areas to the board. 

Casey Shedd, President, AFTCO, is also pleased to see the growth in recreational fishing participation. With his extensive background in digital marketing and data, he would like to see ASA do more to be an online information and advocacy hub for its members. In addition, as a board member, he will advocate for fisheries conservation, expanded fishing access and engaging underrepresented groups in recreational fishing. 

The current members of ASA’s board of directors are – 

Executive Committee –Jesse Simpkins, Vice President of Marketing, St. Croix Rod, Chairman; Phil Lillo, Owner/CEO, Don Coffey Company, Vice Chairman; Dan Ferris, Publisher, Midwest Outdoors, Secretary; Dan McDonald, President, Yakima Bait Company, Treasurer; Patrick Gill, CEO, TackleDirect, At-Large; and Chris Megan, Publisher, On The Water, LLC, Immediate Past Chairman. 

Board members – Bruce Akin, CEO, B.A.S.S. LLC; Dale Barnes, Division Manager, Marketing, Yamaha Marine Group; Diane Bristol, Sr. Director, Employee & Community Engagement, Simms Fishing Products; Charlie Davis, Director of Brand-Fishing, Plano Synergy; Peter Foley, President, Boone Bait Company, Inc.; Frank Hugelmeyer, President, National Marine Manufacturers Association; Bob Hunter, Vice President, Merchandising, Big Rock Sports; Mike Jackson, President, Wright & McGill Company; Sara Parker Pauley, Director, Missouri Department of Conservation; and Steve Smits, President and CEO, ZEBCO Brands.

Ex-officio Members – Dave Bulthuis, President, North America, Pure Fishing, Inc; Carey Graves, President, Daiwa USA; Kenneth Hammond, CEO, The Hammond Group; Kirk Immens, President, Sportco Marketing, Inc.; and Zack Swanson.  

Share on Social Media

The American Sportfishing Association (ASA) is the sportfishing industry’s trade association committed to representing the interests of the sportfishing and boating industries as well as the entire sportfishing community. We give the industry and anglers a unified voice when emerging laws and policies could significantly affect sportfishing business or sportfishing itself. ASA invests in long-term ventures to ensure the industry will remain strong and prosperous, as well as safeguard and promote the enduring economic, conservation and social values of sportfishing in America. ASA also gives America’s 55 million anglers a voice in policy decisions that affect their ability to sustainably fish on our nation’s waterways through Keep America Fishing, our national angler advocacy campaign. America’s anglers generate more than $50 billion in retail sales with a $125 billion impact on the nation’s economy creating employment for 825,000 people.

The post American Sportfishing Association Elects Board of Directors for 2022 appeared first on Hunting and Hunting Gear Reviews.

Source: Huntinglife